Pro Rodeo Canada Member Login
Official home of the Canadian Professional Rodeo Association FB TW YT IN E

CPRAEditorial Note: The information within this release is provided by the Canadian Professional Rodeo Association (CPRA) and is intended for media use. If you use any of the following information verbatim in your publication, or broadcast the details via radio or television, please note that the information is courtesy of the CPRA. * Photos are copyright protected and must not be copied, shared or otherwise disbributed without permission of the CPRA.

The Canadian Finals Rodeo is Back!


Logan SpadyOctober 14, 2021 l Airdrie, AB
For immediate release

After a year hiatus, the finalists have been decided, the back numbers have been assigned and preparations are underway as the countdown to CFR 47 continues. The six-performance event takes place November 3-7 at Red Deer’s Westerner Park Peavey Mart Centrium.

The coveted #1 back number that goes to the regular season’s highest money earner will be worn by Alliance, Alberta cowboy, Logan Spady. The second generation, two event cowboy (tie down roping and team roping heeler) heads into the CFR with $18,870 in money won and also sits on top of the High Point standings ahead of previous winners Morgan Grant and Riley Warren who sit $2000 and $4000 back respectively.

At least three of the seven major events of Canadian rodeo will see new champions crowned as defending titleists, Orin Larsen in the bareback riding, steer wrestler Scott Guenthner and tie down roper, Shane Hanchey will not be in Red Deer this time around.

SpadyJoining Spady as 2021 season leaders in Canadian Professional rodeo are:

Bareback Rider, Dantan Bertsch, Eastend Sask. The five-time CFR qualifier overtook Cole Goodine on the final weekend stop of the year at Hanna, Alberta to earn the right to stamp his name on the coveted season leader saddle.

Defending Canadian Saddle Bronc Champion and two time World Champion, Zeke Thurston. The Big Valley, Alta talent enters the CFR with $18,583 and a comfortable lead over the field with the bronc riding Hay brothers, Dawson and Logan, in second and third place in the standings.

Lacombe, Alta’s Justine Elliott and her two-time CPRA Barrel Horse with the Most Heart, Blondy. This dynamic cowgirl enters the 2021 CFR as season leader at $18,578 with a $3000 margin over second place veteran Lynette Brodoway.

Nanton, Alta tie-down roper Logan Bird. For the third time in his stellar career, Bird will carry the season leader honour into the CFR. The 2017 Champion did most of the damage this year on Peso, his nine year-old gelding. The 2021 Tie Down Roping Horse of the Year succeeded stablemate, TJ, another Bird-trained superstar who won that honour twice previously, including 2019.

Zeke Thurston - Billie-Jean Duff photoFort St. John, BC steer wrestler Stephen Culling. The 2019 CFR Average Champion collected $11,338 on the season giving the four-time finalist a thousand dollar lead over five-time Canadian champion, Cody Cassidy.

2019 Bull Riding Season Leader and Champion, Edgar Durazo. The likeable Mexican-born talent rode all six bulls at CFR 46 and enters the CFR with $15,782 in season earnings and a narrow $1300 cushion over the 2018 title-holder, Wacey Finkbeiner, who sits in second spot.

One of the most dominant season performances in recent memory was that of team roping brothers Dillon and Dawson Graham. Header Dawson at 22 years of age and 20 year-old heeler, Dillon, both topped out at over $16,000 for the season and a solid $3000 head start on second place qualifiers, Logan Spady and Kash Bonnett.

And Maple Creek, Sask bull rider-team roper Jared Parsonage earned his first All Around title in 2021.
In the CPRA novice events, Brodie Roessler (Fairview, Alta) leads the trio of saddle bronc riding qualifiers while Biggar, Sask’s Cruz McNulty heads up the novice bareback riders. Jhett Wheeler (Sylvan Lake, Alta) is the season leader in the junior steer riding event. And Nanton, Alta cowgirl, Lakota Bird, tops the field of six young women appearing in the inaugural CFR breakaway roping competition.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

The Canadian Professional Rodeo Association has also announced its additional CFR personnel:

Officials: Lane Peterson, Larry Adams, Dale Reid, Cam Morris, Bernie Rivet, Perry Gurski
Second announcer: Doug Young
Secretary: Catherine Laycraft
Rodeo Production: Kynan Vine
Arena Director: Tanner Girletz
Livestock Superintendent: Duane Kesler
Official Photographer: Covy Moore
Timed Event Chute Boss: Bob Wilson
Rough Stock Chute Boss: Kyle Daines
CFR Veterinarian: Energy Equine
FloRodeo Broadcasters: Tim Edge, Dustin Edwards, Dave Poulsen

Congratulations to all!

* Full 2021 CFR Back Number List Here

About the Canadian Professional Rodeo Association
The Canadian Professional Rodeo Association (CPRA) with headquarters in Airdrie, Alberta is the official sanctioning body for Professional Rodeo in Canada. The CPRA approves 55 events annually with a total payout exceeding $5.7 million. The organization oversees the Pro Tour Finals each fall in Armstrong, BC, holds their premiere event - the Canadian Finals Rodeo (CFR) - at Westerner Park in Red Deer, AB in early November and endorses the Maple Leaf Circuit Finals as part of Canadian Western Agribition in Regina, SK. Follow the CPRA on Twitter and Instagram @prorodeocanada, ‘Like’ Canadian Professional Rodeo Association on Facebook or online at

For more information:
Barb Poulsen
CPRA Communications and Media
Phone: 403 625-2797
Mobile: 403 625-9225

* Download a copy of this release

Are you a media person who would like to be added to the CPRA Media list to receive releases from our organization?
* If so, please email to let us know your media connection & contact info.


* Rodeo Canada Season Underway * CFR47 Announcement
  * Congrats 2021 CPRA Award Winners
* August Long Weekend Sees Big Performances  
* Dublanko and Durazo Among Weekend Winners  
* Consistency Pays Off For CPRA Athletes  

Troy Fischer Silverworks Ram Rodeo
Pro Rodeo Canada contact information
Copyright Canadian Professional Rodeo Association - All rights reserved.

Home Schedule Results Standings Sponsors Members Fans Media CFR Maple Leaf Circuit
Links - Entry Calendar   - Finning Pro Tour   - Member Forms   - Releases - Canadian Champions  
Contact   - Maple Leaf Circuit   - Member Login   - Animal Welfare - Past Champions  
      - Rookie Standings   - Rule Book   - Rodeo News/PRC Insider - Award Donors  
      - Winston Bruce Series   - Board of Directors   - Media Guide    
      - Kenton Randle Series